10 And 11 At 75

Posted 7 October 2014
Photo by Cpl. David Gibbs

The Royal Australian Air Force celebrated the seventy-fifth anniversary of the formation of its two AP-3C Orion units, 10 Squadron and 11 Squadron, with an airshow at RAAF Edinburgh, near Adelaide, South Australia, on 3-4 October 2014. Formed in 1939, both squadrons today are assigned to 92 Wing. 10 Squadron crews conducted antisubmarine warfare operations and patrols from bases in the United Kingdom until it disbanded in late 1945. It was reformed in Australia in 1949. 10 Squadron flew Lockheed P2V Neptune maritime patrol aircraft from 1962 through 1978 before converting to the Orion. 11 Squadron, which flew Consolidated PBY Catalina aircraft during World War II, flew Neptunes from 1951 through 1968. This squadron was the first Australian unit to convert to the P-3B.

Related News